I’ll Be Back


A DC tale by a Former Washingtonian, Darius Shams

My younger brother and I in Lincoln Memorial in DC

I’m thirteen years old currently living in England and go to school here. Quite often, I reflect back to the days when I used to live in Washington DC 8 years ago. Since then, I have been going back and forth between DC and London during the summer and long holidays. I have lived and visited  many places including Washington DC where I was born, London, Paris, Spain, Qatar, India, morocco, and Iran where my root is from. Out of all the places I have been, Washington is the best because It has everything. Other countries have their own beauty, but Washington, DC has a lot of super beauties and there are more things going on. WASHINGTON DC IS AWESOME!!!

Moby Dick's Chicken and Lamb Kabob

Life is very expensive in England compare to Washington DC. Life is cheaper in morocco, India, and Iran, but the convenience; the shops, the restaurant, and many other things  are much better in DC. When I used to live in Washington, I always dreamed of living in England but 4 years into my life in England I realized how much I should have appreciated DC. The food is ten times better in DC. One of my favorite restaurant which my Dad says I had my first solid food on July 7th 1997 at 1:25 p.m, is called Moby Dick. It is one of the best Persian restaurant you can ever experience. For a $8 kabab that my father pays at Moby Dick, he pays about $19 for the same type of kabab in London with less quality.

Uptown movie theater in DC

Another example was when my dad took me and my little brother to see the movie 10,000 BC in a London movie theater. I still remember my dad’s face when he got mad for paying $58 for 3 tickets compared to Georgetown Movie Theater in DC for only $25. I was also shocked to hear my dad pays only less than $3 per gallon for gas compared to what people pay in England which is about $7 per gallon.

Another difference I notice between London and DC, people look much happier and relaxed in DC than anywhere else I have lived or visited.

I don’t think I need to mention the weather in England. I think everyone knows the weather in England is really bad. It is mostly cloudy and rainy.

So, if you are currently living in DC, and thinking of moving somewhere else to live, don’t! trust me!  But, I am sure there are other places better than DC to visit like Paris or Spain.

I might be living in England, but, my mind and heart will always be in DC. I hope to move back to DC someday soon.  I plan to go to college there.

So, I want you to all know that DC is golden I tell you. DC IS AWESOME!!!

Enjoy the video of flying in and out of DC:

You have a DC Tale, feel free to send it to us. We will be glad to post it on Awesome DC website.

Bookmark and Share

About Elias Shams
I have been a serial entrepreneur in telecom and social media space for past 12 years or so. I hold a M.S. degree in Telecommunication Engineering from the George Washington University and a B.S. degree in Electrical Engineering from the University of Maryland. I’ve lived and worked in many countries and cities including London England, Tehran Iran, Bonn Germany, Paris France, Alicante Spain, Delhi India, and my favorite of all Washington, DC of great US of A. Two of the greatest Washington, DC based companies I worked for and very proud of are Yurie Systems which was sold to Lucent in 1998 for $1.23 B and telezoo.com that I founded in 1999. I am currently the founder and awesomizer @ awesomize.me

6 Responses to I’ll Be Back

  1. Rebecca says:

    Good job Darius!

  2. Farshid Cage says:

    Nice article,reminds me of my own childhood living between DC and London, but London is fun too during the summers in Hyde Park and Richmond in front of the river with fish n chips . 🙂 But one thing for sure London is expensive!

  3. Very nice. I am sure you are prod of him.

  4. Pria Parkash says:

    Awesome. You are a better writer than your

  5. Kamran Abdi says:

    hey, they look very cute. I can’t imagine the blast you are having with them. Have you taken to any bellydancing in DC yet.

Leave a comment