Who Blogs the Most?


According to a report from the business intelligence for social media research company Sysomos, people within the age of  21 to 35 blog the most.

Other notable stats include:

  • 29.2% of bloggers are located in the U.S. — that’s four times as many as the the UK, which comes in second with 6.75%.
  • California has the most bloggers (14.1%), and New York comes in number two with 7.1%.
  • While more than half of the tweets in the world come from the U.S., only a third of blog posts originate there.

I think that people in the 21 – 35 demographic will obviously be blogging more – after all, that’s the age group that grew up with birth of the internet, aren’t too young or too old to be interested in everything from music and fashion to politics and world news, and also have enough life experience to have something interesting to say, without having done so much that they find blogging boring.

I also expect this distribution to change. There are more women bloggers and Mom bloggers than ever before. You can call it trendy, but I have seen it increase over the years. What’s also interesting is that half of the 50 million tweets received are from the US, but only a third of the blog posts are from here. What does that mean? We only have time for 140 characters, rather than an actual post?

Bookmark and Share

About Elias Shams
I have been a serial entrepreneur in telecom and social media space for past 12 years or so. I hold a M.S. degree in Telecommunication Engineering from the George Washington University and a B.S. degree in Electrical Engineering from the University of Maryland. I’ve lived and worked in many countries and cities including London England, Tehran Iran, Bonn Germany, Paris France, Alicante Spain, Delhi India, and my favorite of all Washington, DC of great US of A. Two of the greatest Washington, DC based companies I worked for and very proud of are Yurie Systems which was sold to Lucent in 1998 for $1.23 B and telezoo.com that I founded in 1999. I am currently the founder and awesomizer @ awesomize.me

Leave a comment