The Hilarious Jon Stewart on Net Neutrality



Glad to see Jon Stewart is also on the same page on Net Neutrality. If you are new to the subject, I suggest you read my last coverage on the it before watching the segment below.

Vodpod videos no longer available.

This was a typical Jon Stewart segment. I loved it.

But on a serious note lets look at what Google/Verizon is doing to us.

The “NET” was founded on the old ARPANET network of military, college and scientific sites. It was started as a way for them to communicate with each other.

Prior to 1993 when the World Wide Web was started, or as everybody mistakenly thinks of as the Internet it was all about BBS‘s, gopher, veronica, etc. We need to remember that all these modern day telecommunication companies are taking advantage of the backbone that was built back in the 50’s. Yes they have upgraded and improved the infrastructure but I bet they had some kind of deal with the government for being able to do that and take advantage of that backbone.

Now it is the typical business of today, f@(k the consumer and the government, how can we squeeze more money out of the consumer. Let’s not forget the Internet is world wide, it is owned by everybody. Not just the greedy Corporations looking to make a profit.

It’s  funny how this happens over and over again. Give someone a little power and it instantly goes to their head. Google is on a dead end road. The .com Internet is not the final product of the information age. The evolving ability of individuals to freely network outside of the World Wide Web will sidestep Google and the efforts of business to literally force consumers to click on ads. Home servers unite!

Feel free to follow me on LinkedIn | Facebook | Twitter

Bookmark and Share

About Elias Shams
I have been a serial entrepreneur in telecom and social media space for past 12 years or so. I hold a M.S. degree in Telecommunication Engineering from the George Washington University and a B.S. degree in Electrical Engineering from the University of Maryland. I’ve lived and worked in many countries and cities including London England, Tehran Iran, Bonn Germany, Paris France, Alicante Spain, Delhi India, and my favorite of all Washington, DC of great US of A. Two of the greatest Washington, DC based companies I worked for and very proud of are Yurie Systems which was sold to Lucent in 1998 for $1.23 B and telezoo.com that I founded in 1999. I am currently the founder and awesomizer @ awesomize.me

13 Responses to The Hilarious Jon Stewart on Net Neutrality

  1. Raj says:

    Then we’d be stuck with yahoo.

    Not a pleasant thought.

    Do we want to be boiled in water or in sulfur

  2. Henry says:

    We all should have known the minute Google coined the phrase “Don’t be evil” that they were in fact evil. Who else would say “Don’t be evil” but an evil company? Evil is not a concrete thing…it’s a subjective assessment. I’m sure as far as Google is concerned, they are still “Good.”

  3. why me says:

    It’s Google and Verizon that need to build their own internet, not everyone else. Let them put out the dough for it and they can do whatever they want with it. Just leave ours the F0(K alone.

  4. Fred says:

    Verizon owns the UUNET global IP backbone which is a big slice of the internet.

  5. Jamshid says:

    Jon Stewart, how lucky are we as a generation?

  6. Jerry says:

    Jon Stewart is awesome! I wish the “real” journalists were as good as him, but hey at least someone is telling it like it is.

  7. Fredy says:

    I am a big fan of Google, I’ve had a Gmail account since Gmail was in early beta, I abandoned Firefox for Google Chrome about a year ago when they released a Mac compatible version, and I automatically go to Google for search. After this ruling I uninstalled Google Chrome, use Yahoo and Bing for search, and am currently figuring out were to move my email account to. I hope more people boycott Google and Verizon over this deal. To paraphrase the Teabaggers, I want my internet back!

    • Abbey says:

      I’ve done the same, the only problem is that I use Google Analytics and haven’t found a suitable free alternative yet.

  8. Irena says:

    Not many firms have ever survived even one paradigm shift. Microsoft has become irrelevant after trashing IBM, what will shift and cause Google to tank or can they shift with it?

  9. Steve G says:

    It’s funny that TDS put a Verizon logo on a cable modem.

  10. JJ says:

    On mobile devices only, which are growing. There are technical reasons for this. Bandwidth on mobile devices (cell towers) is VERY expensive and limited. If anyone can do anything, people could potentially stream gigabytes of data and prevent others from using their phones/mobile Internet. The solution is to increase the bandwidth which is expensive or decrease the traffic (increase the cost). In order to allow people to have an affordable plan who just want to send text messages, etc, it sounds like Google is trying to make a compromise. Today, people are spoiled. I grew up with a 300 baud modem on my commodore 64 and $200 long distance phone bills which resulted in my parents beating me (not really, but they weren’t happy.) Now, people expect everything for “free.” Unfortunately, infrastructure and maintenance is very expensive. There may be scenarios like the Rush/Huffpo bandwidth restriction, but I don’t believe that is the intent. The agreement needs to be fined more to prevent such things from happening. We need a sort of regulated net neutrality. Somebody has to pay for the bandwidth. People like me, engineers, like to get paid a decent living for our expertise and many years of education. We also like our freedoms. I’m not a Republican or Democrat. Actually, let me clarify, I’m anti-Republican. I vote for whoever has the best chance to beat the Republican candidate. However, this issue needs to be addressed intelligently.

  11. Miky says:

    I’ve been wondering – because to be perfectly honest, I know nothing about telecommunications – but couldn’t we just build a new Internet separate from the existing one should this madness come to pass?

  12. Elias Shams says:

    Guys, We can go on and keep bitching about the two companies – actually three. AT&T is also joining their club. As I mentioned in my previous article, all you need to do is STOP Googling, Ditch both AT&T and Verizon. That’s all. We got plenty of other options. WE WILL NOT DIE if our YAHOO not being as great as Google for our search.

    If we can all manage to do that, believe me, not only Google, Verizon, and ATT will pull their head out of their ass, but it will be a lesson to all other who are thinking of doing something stupid like this.

Leave a comment