About Elias Shams
I have been a serial entrepreneur in telecom and social media space for past 12 years or so. I hold a M.S. degree in Telecommunication Engineering from the George Washington University and a B.S. degree in Electrical Engineering from the University of Maryland. I’ve lived and worked in many countries and cities including London England, Tehran Iran, Bonn Germany, Paris France, Alicante Spain, Delhi India, and my favorite of all Washington, DC of great US of A. Two of the greatest Washington, DC based companies I worked for and very proud of are Yurie Systems which was sold to Lucent in 1998 for $1.23 B and telezoo.com that I founded in 1999. I am currently the founder and awesomizer @ awesomize.me

18 Responses to Ten Reasons You Will Never Quit Facebook, but Five Reasons You Should

  1. Bobby Caudill says:

    Nicely summed up.

    So far, for me, the ten (well, 9, I hate Farmville!) are outweighing the 5, but, the scale is no longer completely tipped all to one side. I’m not a fan of allowing anyone else to determine what should and should not be publicly shared. I want to be the one to determine who sees what I ‘Like’. I feel like I need to reign myself in, and I don’t ‘Like’ that.

    My determination to stay the course is waning…..

  2. Ian Leong says:

    Once you work out what is really important in life, you will figure out how often you need to use Facebook.

  3. I am on Facebook and probably will not quit, although I am aware of the very serious privacy concerns. I do find others’ reaction to Facebook puzzling, though. Facebook definitely provides its users with valuable services, as the article identifies, and it does not charge for them. In fact, people seem to get irate at even the rumor that Facebook might beginning charging its users. I agree that Facebook should not charge users because we are not their customers. The customers are businesses who pay for access to very individual and sometimes very personal information about the “users”. You get the services “free” but you pay with your privacy. Understand that, and make your choice whether or not to participate.

  4. Bobby Caudill says:

    Patricia, I do agree with your point, however, keep in mind that 4 years ago, when I signed up, I HAD privacy choices and there were no worries about my information being shared.

    I realize I can quit at any time, but, after 4 years and building a significant personal community, simply walking away is not such an easy choice.

    Had I known this was going to be the eventual model, I’m quite certain I would have resisted to begin with. And I’m willing to bet I would not have been the only one.

    So, I feel just a little like there was a bait and switch. Even ‘crack’ addicts know the deal going in. But Facebook changed the rules over time, AFTER we were all hooked.

    Frankly, I would rather pay a small monthly fee to have my privacy back. I may be in the minority, but, I see enough value in FB to pay for it, so long as I am back in control of my information and my profile…..

    Just one man’s opinion of course……

  5. David Lane says:

    I have abandoned Facebook for a number of reasons, the least of which was the amount of time I wasted on the site. Certainly the privacy issues are important and there are so many misconfigured security settings that even someone who thinks they understand them is probably fooling themselves.

  6. There seems to be a lot of skepticism in general about Social Media FB etc. I must say that I have a high tech background and this all feels like De ja Vu. Remember how skeptical we were about the Internet and how nobody was convinced that you could actually make $$ on the net? Look where we are now. Well here we are again with social media. I am keeping an open mind and constantly trying new approaches. So far I have had some amazingly positive things happen using Facebook for business. For example, Facebook Meet up events are a great way to increase brand recognition and you don’t even have to pay for advertising these are well attended events. The other thing I keep hearing is that we waste a lot of time talking to each other instead of our customers.Check where your customers are and what they are saying about you online!

  7. For the record, I don’t believe Facebook has any plans to charge users. Again, I don’t know why they would do so, as the users’ information is the product they are selling to their real customers and free membership is what garners them that information to sell. From time to time, though, rumors surface to the effect that Facebook may/will start charging, and users get (understandably) upset. However, I feel that users are entitled to either “free” service or to privacy, but I don’t know why they feel entitled to both. Facebook has to make money some way, and they do it by selling the information that users would prefer to keep private.

    • Bobby Caudill says:

      The only reason I can think of that people may feel entitled to both is because FB started out that way, the rules were changed only recently and users were not given any heads up, much less a choice. (other than to cancel their account)

      All that said, I am a business man and I completely agree that FB has to generate revenue in SOME way.

      It will be interesting to watch what happens, if people will continue to stay, even with compromised privacy or will FB’s network begin to take a hit. Or will some new entity see this an an opportunity to attack FB….

      I make no predictions, but, I am watching. 🙂

  8. Funny article, just like I expected it will be, kind of “I know what you feel and thinking and I do feel and do thinking like you”, meaning i know you, my reader, better than fingers on my hand:-)

    But given the fact that it is about 400 million users, it’s impossible to come up with such Average Facebook User to address these issues to, plus I have a feeling that this article was written, having an average American Facebook User, right? What about Europe, Asia, other countries, those cultural differences from an average American folk is a dark matter for the article author.

  9. Thanks for sharing – good points to think about.

  10. Paul D says:

    Despite enabling FB’s privacy features over and over again I have had my personal information hacked and then sold to 3rd parties from FB. To this day I have to argue with offshore bottom feeder companies like http://www.Intelius.com to remove my personal info. they acquired from FB feeds. Advise: don’t use your real name on FB if you decide to stay.

  11. Kashif Haque says:

    Am in the process of deleting my FB account as I have found that they are selling my personal information to different companies from which I have been receiving ads lately. the #1 problem and reason people aren’t leaving FB in larger numbers is because there is no clear cut alternative — Google fumbled the launch of its Wave service (on far LESS privacy concerns) and none of the other social networks are as extensive as FB (with the exception of linkedin ;-)).

    Just need a viable alternative and watch how fast the backlash begins.

  12. Iain says:

    I dont agree that facebooks terms of use are completely one sided.
    I have just read through the entire “terms of use” section, including every subsection, and it seems to me that the person who wrote this article has not even looked at the “terms of use”.

  13. So many people are afraid to walk away from Facebook, but so what of you lose the pretend community it gives? It has its benefits but in summary it is evil. Even with the privacy in check, it is designed to use your habits to better market products and services. Facebook doesn’t care about your community, it cares about its marketing research. Before Facebook, consumer research panels might have paid you for the amount of information we willingly post on Facebook. It’s sad really. I have a Facebook account, but I have stopped posting on it. I only read everyone else’s posts and write messages with non private information.

Leave a comment